A collection of hilarious bumps photos

PostA collection of hilarious bumps photos
AuthorPhil McCullough
p.mccullough@stcatz.oxon
Posted At22:24, 25th Feb 2015
151 weeks ago
For those of you who don't know me, I'm a previous OURCs secretary, who decided to stick around on committee because I really enjoy bumps racing, and want the next generation of Oxford rowers to enjoy the experience of Torpids and Eights just as much as I did when I was a student. I live 3 hours away from Oxford but I (and a number of ex-secretaries) come back out of a pure love of the sport.

I wanted to send you all a message, as a casual outsider, in advance of bumps. If you read to the end, I will provide you with a photo album of bumps, crashes and damaged boats that will keep you amused for days :)

We all dedicate lots of time to this sport, and as a result we always take races very seriously. I'm sure that lots of you took part in IWL E this weekend, where there were over 100 boats that raced. That's a phenomenally large number. It beats our record of ~95 boats that we achieved for IWL E in 2012. To put that in context - I now race with a club in Yorkshire, where I live. Entire local boat clubs hold head races, they tend to get ~180 entries, they charge at least twice as much as OURCs do, they have the luxury of an entire day to hold races in, and have an entire boat club who run the regatta, do commentary, provide all the marshals, provide timers, provide results, prizes and run the catering. Compared to all the other clubs out there, we run racing on a shoe-string, and don't make very much money out of it. We do this to give you the chance to experience head races.

I know loads of you really enjoyed the day. If you did, why not send an email to Gavin and Stewie who made this all possible? It'll only take 3 minutes, you can find their addresses here (http://www.ourcs.org.uk/ourcs/contacts), and I'm sure it would really make their day as well.